Wilmington School District's library services include access to a number of online databases to aide in your studies. The following links will take you to the individual databases. You will need to obtain the log-in information from the school librarians as they are not allowed to be posted online.


Ebsco Host provides students with access to thousands of magazines, articles, biographies, and images to use for research purposes. It contains a wealth of information on a wide variety of topics. There are many databases to explore for your project, so feel free to look around.

A password may be needed. Contact a librarian for this information. Click on the first link. Select the databases that you wish to search from, then click Continue. Enter your search terms then click Search. Click on the article title of your choice to see an entire article.


Britannica Online gives teachers and students instant access to four encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics. This unique database also offers high-quality online learning materials that are developed by teachers and curriculum experts.

A username and  password may be needed. Contact the library for this information. In the white box, type in your keyword. Click on Go. Click on the article title of your choice to see an entire article.


BrainPOP  is a group of educational websites with over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12 (ages 6 to 17), together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, mathematics, engineering and technology,  health, and arts and music.

This database is exclusively for SIS students, and you may need to get a username and password from your librarian. This is a resource for students and teachers.

 


Infotrac is a helpful, easy-to-use database that offers information on a wide variety of topics that is made available by a partnership with Cengage Learning and Wilmington High School. It provides students with access to thousands of articles and other resources.

A username is needed. Contact the library for this information. In the white box on the next screen, type in your keywords. Click on Go. Click on the article title of your choice to see an entire article.


The Online Computer Library Center is an organization that offers access to the world's information; researchers, students, faculty, scholars, and librarians use OCLC to obtain bibliographic, abstract and full-text information when and where they need it.

A username and  password may be needed. Contact the library for this information. In the white box, type in your keyword. Click on Go. Click on the article title of your choice to see an entire article.


Maps101 was one of the first online subscriptions services for K-12 schools with the purpose of supplementing and complimenting traditional history, social studies and geography curriculum materials. Maps101.com is a web-based interactive database of teacher lesson plans, geography tools, online learning games, dynamic interactive map modules and over 4,000 viewable and printable history, thematic, reference, outline, current events and animated maps.

A username and  password may be needed. Contact the library for this information.